Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Review of The Truth Between Us (Bentwood #2) by Tammy L. Gray

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to the book tour for The Truth Between Us by Tammy L. Gray. This book is the second in the Bentwood series. It can be read as a standalone, but it definitely helps to have read the first book. Today I am sharing my review of this book. Other stops along the way will have more reviews, excerpts, etc. Plus there is a great giveaway at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission, at no additional cost to you. I also received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

The Truth Between Us
(Bentwood #2)
By Tammy L. Gray
Inspirational Contemporary Romance
ebook, 252 Pages
July 12th 2018

Nine years to win her. Three years to love her. And one decision that destroyed it all.

April Duncan was raised with three clear truths: the family name is absolute, ambition and success rule over every emotion, and love always comes with strings attached. Image was everything in her carefully crafted world... until the mirror cracked.

Sean Taylor was April's best friend, the one man who taught her it was okay to let her guard down and to rely on someone. She trusted him. She loved him. Which made his deception the darkest kind of cruelty.

Now, nearly a year later, she’s ready to leave her failed engagement in the past and get back her life and her estranged family, even if it means dating a man solely for his connections. She’ll never again choose love over loyalty.

Sean has spent his entire life breaking barriers, facing challenges, and never giving up. Until one impossible choice destroyed his future and left him no option but to flee from the woman who annihilated his heart.

Now he’s back in Bentwood and determined to make her hear the truth and rebuild the trust he shattered. But April has become a mere shell of the woman who claimed his heart long ago.

Winning her back is more than just seizing a victory, because if he fails… the girl he’s loved for a lifetime will disappear forever.

The Truth Between Us is the second book in the Bentwood series. Each book can be read as a standalone, but it is recommended that you begin with book one to get the full experience among this tight group of family and friends.


**My thoughts**

This story reminded me of reading a soap opera in a way, without all of the sex and violence. But you had plenty of broken hearts, attempts at rekindling romance, games, and backstabbing. April has felt betrayed by her ex-fiance for his role in her beloved uncle being arrested. She has also lost contact with her family, because they never approved of him. And then you have Aiden chasing after her. He may be her ticket back "in" with her family, but there's something conniving about him that I just don't trust.

Sean never fell out of love with April, even though he went away for a while, and he knows that deep down she is still in love with him. He's a bit pushy trying to win her back, but also seems to believe that it is going to require extra effort to break through to her to help her to realize that they belong together. Plus with him being back in town, they need to get used to being around each other, as they share the same circle of friends and will run into each other quite frequently. So how do they sort out themselves, their feelings, and their painful past?

This book is considered to be a standalone. For the most part it is, but I can tell there are a lot of pieces of the other characters' stories that I missed by not reading that one. There is some kind of a riff between a couple of the guys, Ty and Beck. And Caroline has a mysterious past, that I think is being set up for a future installment. It's kind of like a miniseries in book form.

Despite some of my confusion with some of the other characters, I focused more on April and her story with Sean, Aiden, and the rest of her family, watching her grow and evolve. I rooted for the MCs to figure out what was ailing them. They have such a beautiful and rich past together, stretching way back to their early days. And it just feels like so much was a misunderstanding that they never had a chance to work through. Reading this was a great way to relax on a hot summer's day. I want to read the first book in the series now, to get a better understanding of this book. And I would be interested in reading the next one to follow up on where everyone goes, and to figure out what is happening with some of the other characters.

Other Books in the Series

Until I Knew Myself
(Bentwood #1)
By Tammy L. Gray
Inspirational Contemporary Romance
ebook, 264 Pages
March 8th 2018

RITA Award-winning author Tammy L. Gray delivers an unforgettable new series following five struggling friends in search of the true meaning of family through secrets, betrayal and the unexpected influence of an outsider…

Tyler Mitchell grew up an orphan, taken in by his best friend’s family when he was only sixteen. Even though ten years have passed, and he’s been given everything he should ever want—a loving home, an adoring girlfriend, a successful career, and lifelong friendships—Tyler has always felt a foreigner in his own life.

When a surprising phone call reveals the death of his biological grandfather, Tyler’s seemingly perfect life starts to unravel. The people he loves most in world have kept from him the greatest secret of all—knowledge of his father’s family.

Now hunting for more information about his past, Tyler discovers nothing is quite as it seems. And the definition of family is far more complicated than choosing between blood and loyalty.

About the Author

Tammy L. Gray lives in the Dallas area with her family, and they love all things Texas, even the erratic weather patterns. She writes modern Christian romance with true-to-life characters and culturally-relevant plot lines. She believes hope and healing can be found through high quality fiction that inspires and provokes change.

Her characters are real, relatable and deep, earning her a 2017 RITA award in the Romance with Religious and Spiritual Elements category.

When not chasing after her three amazing kids, Tammy can be spotted with her head in a book. Writing has given her a platform to combine her passion with her ministry.

Tour Schedule

July 16th:
Katie's Clean Book Collection
All-of-a-kind Mom
Christian Chick's Thoughts
July 17th:
The Power of Words
Uplifting Reads
My Scribbler's Heart
Locks, Hooks and Books
July 18th:
C Jane Read
Reading Is My SuperPower
Book by Book
Author Austin Ryan
July 19th:
Faithfully Bookish
Wishful Endings
Tell Tale Book Reviews
Rockin' Book Reviews
July 20th:
Redeemed Hope Dweller
Among the Reads
Christen Krumm
Heidi Reads...
July 21st:
Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway

1 winner will receive a Kindle ebook of UNTIL I NEW MYSELF, book one in The Brentwood Series, and a $10 Amazon eGift Card
- Open internationally
- Ends July 25th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

No comments:

Post a Comment